Iyengar Yoga

BKS Iyengar

Mr. B.K.S.Iyengar

Iyengar Yoga focuses on holding poses in the correct alignment, to retrain the muscles to support better posture.  In Iyengar yoga we use props (blocks, bricks, belts, bolsters) to enable students of different abilities to achieve the correct alignment without risk of strain or injury.  Regular practice brings harmony to both the body and the mind.

“Regular practice builds up the body’s inner strength and natural resistance, helps to alleviate pain, and tackles the root, rather than the symptoms, of the problem.”   B.K.S.Iyengar

Most people are drawn to yoga for it’s physical benefits.  Iyengar yoga is suitable for everyone, whatever your fitness level and regular practice can help to alleviate many common problems. During yoga practice, the mind is focussed inwards, enabling it to quieten and bringing a sense of calm and this is usually why people continue with yoga.  Yoga is ideal for maintaining health and wellbeing and for helping us to cope with the stresses of modern day life.

Each class is structured by the teacher to include preparatory poses to begin, relaxation at the end and a varying selection of poses in between.  No two classes are the same and there is a progression through the term so it is best to attend regularly if possible, although the important teaching points are repeated throughout the term.  Students should leave the class feeling both energised and relaxed.

certification_mark1The Iyengar Certification Mark (left) can only be used by certified Iyengar teachers.  It shows that the teacher has completed rigorous teacher training and continues to study with senior Iyengar teachers.

Iyengar yoga teacher training takes a minimum of 2 years and is only open to students who have studied continuously for 3 years before applying to the course.  All Iyengar teachers have passed at least 2 exams and need to continue to train with senior teachers to remain in the IY(UK).

Iyengar teaching qualifications;

Introductory Level 2 (to qualify to teach beginners)

Intermediate Junior Level1, 2 and 3

Intermediate Senior Level 1, 2 and 3

Advanced (there are several levels of these too but not many teachers get this far!)


Leave a Reply